Archives Latest news Sports

NRFA Chairman among delegation leading Black Satellites to Mauritania for U20 AFCON

The Northern Regional Football Association (NRFA) Chairman Alhaji Abu Hassan Rhyzo is among a delegation that comprises of Dr. Randy Abbey, Sam Anim Addo and Mr. Mark Addo leading the Black Satellites to Mauritania for the U20 AFCON.

The Ghana U-20 male team have departed to Mauritania for the 2021 CAF U20 African Cup of Nations.

The tournament is taking place from February 14- March 6.

A delegation made up of 26 players, 9 technical team officials and the management team left Accra on Saturday to Nouadhibou where Ghana will be based.

Ghana’s Black Satellites are in Group C where they are pitched against Morocco, Tanzania and The Gambia.

Coach Karim Zito’s side will face off with Tanzania in their opening match on Tuesday February 16 before squaring off with Morocco and Gambia in subsequent group matches.

Due to covid19 restrictions on air travels across Africa, the team went aboard a Ghana Air force plane

Tournament hosts Mauritania are in group A with Cameroon, Uganda and Mozambique while Burkina Faso, Tunisia, Namibia and Central African Republic have been drawn in Group B.

The Black Satellites qualified for the competition after reaching the final of the Wafu Zone B U20 Cup of Nations in Benin where they went on to beat Burkina Faso 2-1 in the final to win the trophy.

Ghana won the U20 AFCON in 1993, 1999 and 2009 where they went on to win the World Cup after beating Brazil in an epic penalty shoot-out in the final of the tournament staged in Egypt.

Below are the players who made the Black Satellites trip to Mauritania:

1.William Emmanuel Essu
2.Philomo Baffour
3.Benjamin Aloma
4.Nathaniel Adjei
5.Frank Kwabena Assinki
6.Emmanuel Essiam
7.Mathew Cudjoe Anim
8.Sampson Agyapong
9.Percious Boah
10.Daniel Afriyie Barnieh
11.Mohammed Sulemana
12.David Kudjo
13.Patrick Mensah
14.Ivan Anokye Mensah
15.Ofori McCarthy
16.Appiah Kubi
17.Eric Ansu Appiah
18.Samuel Koshie Agbenyega
19.Danlad Ibrahim
20.Abdul Fatawu Issahaku
21.Samuel Abbey-Ashie Quaye
22.Frank Boateng
23.Emmanuel Agyemang Duah
24.Uzair Alhassan
25.Josepho Barnes
26.James Ampofo
Satellites Squad in full


Related posts

Only a united NPP can break the 8.

Mutaka Mohammed

Diamond FM to continue to impact its audiences positively as the station bags another award

Abdulai Majeed

“those who are bent on using violence to achieve their aims must be prepared to answer for their actions,” says JJ Rawlings

Abdul-Gafaru Abdulai

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: