Archives Latest news Politics

Bagbin snatches Speaker position from Prof Ocquaye in the most dramatic moment in Parliament

The immediate past Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Alban Sumana Kinsford Bagbin, has been sworn in as Speaker of the Eighth Parliament of the Fourth Republic. This was after he beat Professor Aaron Mike Quaye, the Speaker of the Seventh Parliament, in a closely contested election supervised by the Clerk of Parliament.

Mr Bagbin took the oath of office administered by the Chief Justice, Justice Anim Yeboah, to pave way for the swearing in of MPs-Elect and later, the investiture of the President-Elect, President Nana Akufo-Addo.

The Bekwai Member of Parliament, Joseph Osei-Owusu was appointed First Deputy Speaker for the 8th Parliament while the independent Member of Parliament for Formena constituency, Andrew Asiamah Amoako was also appointed the 2nd Deputy Speaker for the 8th Parliament.

The election in Parliament was characterized by verbal attacks from both sides of the House with intermittent acts of violence, necessitating the invitation of armed military and police personnel to maintain order.

Disagreements over the presence of the Member of Parliament (MP)-Elect for Assin-North, Mr Quayson Gyakye, who was restrained by a Cape Coast High Court from presenting himself as MP-Elect, in the Chamber of Parliament and mode of voting delayed the process for over eight hours.

Related posts

Close down St. Charles SHS over recent fire outbreaks, Old-boys to management.

Mutaka Mohammed

Northern Regional Security Council (REGSEC) warns the general public against any act that would undermine the peace during the funeral of late chief of Kpatinga

Abdulai Majeed

Tamale residents are optimistic that the Tamale interchange when executed will open up the region for more business activities

Abdul-Gafaru Abdulai

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: