Archives Latest news Politics

A.B.A. Fuseini retains Sagnarigu parliamentary seat

The incumbent National Democratic Congress (NDC) member of parliament for the Sagnarigu Constituency Alhaj A.B.A. Fuseini has retained his seat and will therefore return to parliament for the next four years.

Alhaj A.B.A. Fuseini was declared winner of the seat at the Sagnarigu Constituency collation center on Tuesday afternoon.

He polled 34, 989 votes to beat his challenger, the NPP’s Madam Felicia Tettey who polled 26, 434 votes at Monday’s election.

At the declaration, returning officer for the constituency collation center Mr. Yidana George Mumuni also declared John Dramani Mahama as winner of the presidential election in the Sagnarigu Constituency.

Mr. Yidana George Mumuni, EC returning officer for Sagnarigu Collation Center

Former president John Mahama polled 42, 363 votes to beat his nearest challenger, the NPP’s Nana Akuffo Addo who had 17, 153 votes.

The other presidential candidates in the election had, GUM-249votes, CPP-139votes, GFP-92votes, GCPP-52votes, APC-79votes, LGP-122votes, PNC-65votes, PPP-167votes, NDP-162votes and the independent candidate had 75votes.

A total of 60, 757 valid votes were cast while 1,903 were rejected ballots.

Related posts

Ghana makes great achievements over the past years in its malaria mortality targets, yet, infection rates remain high

Abdulai Majeed

“NDC’s manifesto is realistic, human-centered and carefully planned to rescue the nation” says its 2020 presidential running mate

Abdulai Majeed

Dakpema Palace punishes two young bloods caught in recent sex videos. The lovers were lashed publicly and their parents fined

Abdul-Gafaru Abdulai

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: