Archives Latest news

Full List: Aspirants who return their nomination forms for NPP primaries in the Northern Region

At the close of filing of nominations on the 3rd of August, 2019, in the northern region, 29 aspirants from across nine orphan Constituencies, submitted their forms to contest the upcoming Parliamentary Primaries of the ruling new patriotic NPP.

In a press statement copy to Diamond News, the northern regional Secretary of NPP, Alhaji Sibdow Alhassan Yakubu, congratulated all candidates for a peaceful process and wished them the best as they campaign ahead of the September polls.

Below is the full list of the 57 aspirants who successfully filed and their respective constituencies in northern region:

N/R : 29 To Contest NPP Primaries Across 9 Orphan Constituencies

Articles89 August 04, 2019 0

Story By Iddrisu Z. B. Articles

29 aspirants from across nine orphan Constituencies have confirmed their participation in the NPP’s upcoming parliamentary primaries following their succesful filing of nomination forms by close of yesterday, August 3.

The Party’s regional secretariat in a statement signed by Secretary, Alhaji Sibdow Alhassan Yakubu, congratulated all candidates for a peaceful process and wished them the best as they campaign ahead of the September polls.

In the Karaga Constituency, four persons are vying for the parliamentary candidature position with deputy Energy Ministers, Mohammed Amin Adam Anta, leading the pack as favourite to carry the contest.

It is almost all women affair at Sagnarigu where regional school feeding Coordinator, Felicia Tettey Tacorabama will lock horns with Accra based entrepreneur, Hajia Abu Fawzia Zanabogu, and IT specialist, Mrs Musah Hawa. Felicia Tettey who is also second regional vice chairperson of NPP is tipped as favourite.

Elsewhere In Zabzugu, Deputy Northern Regional Minister and former MP, Hon. JOHN Jabah Benam is seeking a return after he failed to claim the seat for the ruling Partyat the 2016 elections.

In the Tamale Central Constituency, CEO of Nabco, Dr Barhama Anyars, who contested the last general elections and lost rather controversially to NDC’s Inusah Fuseini, is expected to retain the PC position as he is overwhelmingly favourite to win against his only challenger, Mr Abass Zakaria

Below is the full list of contestants as released by the NPP regional Secretariat.







The Regional Secretariat wish to announce to members of the party and the general public that, on Saturday, 3rd August, 2019, the window of picking nomination and filing ended successfully at all earmarked Orphan Constituencies in the northern region. 

In all nine Orphan Constituencies in the region, a total of twenty nine Aspiring Parliamentary hopefuls successfully submitted their nominations before the close of the two weeks process to their respective Constituency Election Committee.

Below are the lists of all constituencies and the Candidates who have filed to contest the elections in those areas.  


Dr Mohammed Amin Adam

Dr Baba Sayuti

Mr Sulemana Ibn Saeed

Mr Abdulai Alhassan


Mr Kumbung Omega 

Hon Thomas Mbomba 

Mr Jacob Wajah Yaw 


Dr Ibrahim Arnyas Imoro 

Mr Zakaria Abass 


Mr Alhassan Dahamani 

Mr Adam Habib 


Mr Yakubu Yussif 

Mr Shamsudeen Abdallah Pegu 

Mr Iddrisu Fuseini 

6 *MION* 

Mr Musah Abdul Aziz

Mr Samuel N.K. Mahama 

Hon Mohammed Hashim Abdallah 

Alhaji Baba Yakubu Mohammed


Mr Nakoja Isaac

Mr Z.A. Labaran Fuseini

Alhaji Mohammed Abubakari

Hon Benaam John Jabaah


Mr Umar Abdul Hamid

Mr Sulemana Abdul Rauf

Hon Abdul Salam Hamza Fataw


Mrs Felicia Tettey

Mrs Musah Hawa

Mrs Abu Fouzia Zanabongo

Alhaji Dr. Abdul Wahab Alhassan

We congratulate everyone for the peaceful process and we wish all Aspirants the best in the primaries. 

Thank you

Related posts

Rafael Nadal ends year as world number one after win over Hyeon Chung

Mutaka Mohammed

Cabinet to decide on commercialization of motorbike transport in Ghana.

Ken Edward

6 new districts to be inaugurated on Tuesday

yakubu alhassan

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: