Archives Latest news

All is set for NDC’s parliamentary contest in 175 constituencies

All is set for the National Democratic Congress (NDC) Parliamentary Primaries slated for Saturday, August 24, with the exception of five constituencies.

The constituencies are Yilo Krobo in the Eastern Region, Mpohor in the Western Region, Ellembelle in the Western Region, Asawase in the Ashanti Region, as well as Fanteakwa North in the Eastern Region.

General Secretary of NDC, Johnson Asiedu Nketia, said there were issues in five constituencies that were in the process of being resolved, hence, their Parliamentary Primaries would not come-off on Saturday.

At a press conference in Accra, Mr Nketia noted that with regards to the Party’s Parliamentary Primaries scheduled for Saturday, 24th August; elections would be held in 157 out of the 275 constituencies.

He said 39 candidates were going unopposed in respective constituencies, adding that the Party would open nominations for the remaining 74 constituencies at a later date.

He said the election, which would commence at 0700 hours to 1700 on Saturday, would be organised by the Electoral Commission (EC) and assisted by the Party’s electoral Committee.

Mr Nketia said all branch registers were to be assembled at the voting Centres for the purposes of verifying the particulars of voters, where there were doubts about identity.

He said all persons who had their names on the delegate list were entitled to vote, as such any person whose name was not on the list could not vote, adding that “if you go there and create problems for the EC staff, the electoral laws will be applied to deal with you”.

Related posts


Abdulai Majeed

Government to invest more in agriculture for rapid development of the country says Minister of State

Abdulai Majeed

Northern Region Police Clamps Down on sex workers, criminals

Abdulai Majeed

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: