Archives Latest Sports


As the World Cup ended in Russia 2018 on Sunday, here is a list of the deserving award winner at the mundial.

The best player of the tournament went to Croatia’s Luka Modric who single-handedly carried his team to the final even though he failed to win it. He took home the Adidas Golden ball. The Adidas Silver Ball Award went to  Eden Hazard of Belgium for the second best player whilst the Adidas Bronze Ball went to Antoine Griezmann, he also took the  Adidas Silver Boot for his 4goals at the tournament while also assisting two making him the best performing French player at a World Cup since Just Fontaine scored 13goals at the 1958 World Cup in Sweden.

The  young player of the tournament went to French wonderkid Kylian Mbappe.

The goalkeeper of the tournament  went to Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois, He took home the Golden Glove.

Harry Kane of England took the Golden Boot for his six goals at the World Cup. Romelu Lukaku took the Adidas Bronze Ball for his four goals at the tournament.

The FIFA Fair Play Trophy went to Spain. While Spain had a disappointing World Cup, exiting the tournament in the last 16 against hosts Russia, they can take some satisfaction from their exemplary behaviour on the pitch, where they picked up just two yellow cards in their four matches and committed a mere 34 fouls.

The ultimate which is the trophy went to France, Croatia placed second and Belgium are third while England ended in fourth place.

Related posts

Election of MMDCEs on partisan basis would address ‘winner takes all’ syndrome says Local Government Minister

yakubu alhassan

We have a duty to perform as stakeholders to ending child marriage, says Mrs Malonin Asibi, Head of the Domestic Violence Secretariat

Abdulai Majeed

All is set for NDC’s parliamentary contest in 175 constituencies

yakubu alhassan

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: